Alongside St David’s Cathedral, just over the stone bridge across the river Alun, is the Bishop’s Palace. The well-preserved and lovingly maintained remains of a medieval palace are well worth a visit.
Henry de Gower
Much of the structure and many walls are still standing and you can gain a good sense of the grandeur and affluence of the medieval church. Bishop Henry de Gower (1328 – 47) was mainly responsible for building the grand and imposing residence whose remains we see today. Some of the key features enjoyed by the thousands of visitors include; the imposing porch, the stunning wheel window, the arches which stand out against the sky and the extravagant stone carvings.
The Bishop’s Palace is under the management of Cadw, the Welsh Government’s historic environment service working for an accessible and well-protected historical environment for Wales. There is an entry fee and visitors can enjoy an enhanced experience of the Palace, with information boards, interactive and audio displays, which show the visitor how the Palace would have looked during its rich and important past. Visitors can enjoyexploring with Staircases leading up and down, giving insight into the building and revealing spectacular views. There is a special trail arranged for children and under 16s must be accompanied by an adult.
- Dogs are welcome as long as they are kept on a lead.
- The Bishop’s Palace also provides a stunning, atmospheric backdrop for open-air theatre performances and events.
- For more information, please refer to the Cadw website.